Crush: Park Ki-Woong

I’m still alive! We’re still here, I promise.

It’s been a while, I know, and I dare not upload a post since I haven’t had the time to actually watch a drama. While I’ve been reading recaps here and there, my schedule does not allow for the actual act of watching. (Sigh, I wonder sometimes if I made a wrong career move.) With that being said, I’ve been wanting to upload a tragic figure post about the characters in Gaksital. I’ve seen snippets of the show and thoroughly enjoyed the pace of the writing, even though the romantic angle of the story was but a dud. I absolutely loved Joo Won in it, and I am extremely impressed with his abilities to act out repressed rage, sorrow, and regret. As a person, Joo Won is ridiculously “aegyo-tastic (meaning cutsy),” which is a complete 180 degrees from his Gaksital character. Park Ki-Woong was also on a different level. I’ve seen him in other projects before, but this is the first one where I came to understand his full range and acting capabilities. He’s such an underrated actor.

Needless to say, I had a hard time picking who was the most tragic of the figures in the drama. It was just too hard. Do you pick the misguided hero who gave up the only friend he had to pursue an altruistic agenda after his mother was brutally murdered, and after accidentally killing his own brother with his bare hands? Or do you pick the anti-hero whose love for all peoples of the world was gutted after the murder of his brother and the betrayal of his one true friend for a girl he would’ve died and killed to protect? It was just too hard, and to add to it all, the actors were both fantastic.

But while Joo Won enjoys the spot light after several successful dramas prior to the Bridal Mask project, I’ve only ever saw Park in The Tutor Friend (2) and as a side character in Love and Marriage. I don’t think I’ve ever seen him in a setting that allowed him to showcase his abilities. I’m a little taken aback by the harshness, craze, and yet turmoil with which he was able to portray Kimura Shinji. He relays the darkness so well, and yet still propels us to sympathize with his twisted logic. (Fan girl sigh.)

I’ve seen him be the bumbling idiot (Love and Marriage), and he’s cute enough to do romantic comedy (Tutor Friend), but please, someone give this man a real meaty leading role. He is leading role material. He totally deserves more love, and so I’ve birthed a new segment call “Crush” to show my appreciation, and of course dying love, for him. Come on people, Joo Won isn’t the only one that deserves some loving!

Leave a Reply

