The Moon That Embraces The Sun’s Yeo Jin Goo and Kim Yoo Jung – Best Kids Actors Ever

I’ve always been a sucker for child actors. They kill me with their adorableness and intensity all rolled up into one tiny package. Baker King, Kim Tak Gu is an excellent example. Every time Oh Jae Moo cried, I bawled alongside him. He carried the drama…*lost in my reminiscing daydream*

And now, The Moon That Embraces The Sun is no exception. On the premise that this was a historical drama, I was hesitant to watch it, as I assumed the first few episode would be slow as heck and totally incomprehensible with all those traditional conversations. But boy, am I glad I gave this drama a shot. The story basically revolves a crown prince, his looked-over brother, and the girl they both pine for. There’s a F4 element thrown in to appease fangirls with the girl’s hot older brother and his best friend-turned warrior.

They really took the term "flower boys" literally...

Yeo Jin Goo and Kim Yoo Jung, who play the crown prince and the would-to-be princess, are the protagonists of the story. And they are perfect in every way. Jin Goo plays the line between mischievous yet devoted prince so convincingly. I laughed at the funny moments with his aide and cried along with him as he wept for his princess. This boy sure can cry and boy, did I cry a lot. It was mesmerizing to watch the extent to which he played his role. I’m soooo going off on a noona-dongsaeng relationship here. Yoo Jung is the perfect balance of cuteness and elegance. I admit at times it was a bit weird to see her character act so mature for a 13-year old. I’m pretty sure that when I was 13, all I cared about was N’Sync and Pokemon. But she made it so believable; she took full control of the character and showed us what a strong independent “woman” of the 14th century would look like. The chemistry between the two, although they’re both young and I would imagine them to have a more brother-sister relationship than one of lovers, is certainly there. I rooted for them (even though they’re both only 14 or something) and is it so wrong of me to hope that when they grow up, they will get married and have beautiful babies?

How cute are they? Answer: No words can describe my love for them

After episode 5, the kids were switched out for our adult actors – Kim Soo Hyun and Han Ga In. I think that they’re doing a good job in carrying the drama so far, but I can’t help but to reminisce about the kids. I’ll keep watching the drama because I’m curious to see how this two suns-two moons rectangle turns out. Stay tuned for our next updates!

2 thoughts on “The Moon That Embraces The Sun’s Yeo Jin Goo and Kim Yoo Jung – Best Kids Actors Ever

  1. Well… Han Ga-in wasn’t a great actress to start with. The thing with her is that you’re suppose to only enjoy her face. The drama was so good in the beginning, but I agree, I think it’s pretty empty as far as the story’s been going. I hate passive super virtuous female leads. Ugh.

Leave a Reply

