My Black Mini Dress (2011) Movie Review

I actually don’t quite get this movie. I understand it’s suppose to be something like the “Sisterhood of Traveling Pants” and “Sex and the City” and every other film out there about adulthood, friendship, and finding love. But I still don’t understand what I was suppose to walk away with.

The story revolves around the friendship of 4 college graduates who are all theater majors. Yoon Eun Hye plays Yoo Min who was recently hired to be an assistant writer to a Cruella De Vil type of boss. Park Han Byul plays Hye Ji, a party girl that was spotted at a nightclub and becomes famous overnight. Cha Ye Ryeon plays Soo Jin, an aspiring actress that forges her college credentials to try to land a job. She’s going broke. And my favorite Yoo In-Na plays Min Hee, a rich girl whose parents are getting divorced.

The movie follows them as they try to find themselves after their recent graduation. They each fall into their own hardships. Yoo Min doesn’t know what she wants to do with her life and she had a pregnancy scare with a douche-bag of a boyfriend. Hye Ji becomes a celebrity because of her good looks, but her lack of talent is hated by drama directors. She is involved in a scandal that has the paparazzi grilling her. Soo Jin is going bankrupted and everything she owns is getting repo’d. She is still trying to become an actress and is the most jealous when she learns of Hye Ji’s new stardom. Min Hee is learning English so that she can study abroad. Her parents’ divorce is taking a toll on her. I think she’s the least selfish of the four, but because she’s rich, they don’t think much of her problems. In the end, when she leaves for the States, everyone forgets that it’s her birthday except Hye Ji who comes late.

The moral of it all? Everyone in South Korea has an iphone. It was kind of boring. Even though I loved the actresses in the movie, “Sisterhood of Traveling Pants” was never my cup of tea. I only watched it because the movie promised a) fashion, b) Yoon Eun Hye, c) Yoo In Na. The guys weren’t hot, but the dresses were gorgeous. The story was pretty plain, but the party scenes really make me wanna dance. Where can I find a dance club like this:

It looks like a mega-load of fun.

But overall, I’d give this movie a 5.5/10. I loved the actresses. The story was just not my cup of tea, a bit stale if I might add. And it annoyed me that everyone was trying to make it into the entertainment business.

2 thoughts on “My Black Mini Dress (2011) Movie Review

  1. Hello! I kind of understand your opinion. I don’t know if you’ve ever watch an american movie called “Waiting to Exhale”. It was a similar movie (a classic for me :p) which talked a bit of the same things as My Black Mini Dress… except it provided more closure that this movie… but I still enjoyed it. My Black Mini Dress just talks of friendship… lovers, they come and go… but friends, real ones, they’re always here even when you don’t always know how to cherish them and even when you miss out on part of their lives… with so many of my friends abroad, I also feel like that… and then again, I also get the feeling of not knowing what to do with your life once you’ve graduated from school cause I’ve been there too :P. So overall, I enjoyed the movie, and yeah, to compensate for the lack of closure, I just think of the end as another beginning 🙂

    Thank you for writing this review.

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

